Types of Renal Failure


The kidneys are essential organs of the body that help to eliminate extra fluids as well as wastes from the blood and maintain electrolyte balance in the body. The decreased activity of kidneys leads to renal failure. Renal failure is classified into two types:

  1. Acute renal failure or acute kidney injury
  2. Chronic renal failure or chronic kidney injury

Acute renal failure is caused by a sudden loss in renal function whereas Chronic renal failure is the result of a gradual and progressive decrease in renal function.

Acute renal injury: Renal roles fall rapidly resulting in the declining volume of urine, electrolyte imbalances and accumulation of fluids in the body. It is further classified into Prerenal, Renal and Postrenal failures based on the cause of acute renal damage.

Chronic renal injury: It is the end result of kidney damage caused by diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure etc.

The other types include acute-on-chronic renal failure where acute renal injury may develop in patients with chronic renal disease. End-stage renal disease is the type in which the glomerular filtration rate is less than 5%. The kidney functions are almost totally absent in this condition.

Journal of Clinical & Experimental Nephrology focuses on the dissemination of the latest  advancements on the current knowledge on all the aspects of Nephrology such as Peritoneal Dialysis, Kidney Diseases, Acute Renal Replacement Therapy, Chronic Kidney Disease, End-Stage Renal Diseases, Lupus Nephritis and Renal Transplantation.


Calvin Parker
Journal of Clinical & Experimental Nephrology
WhatsApp: +32-2-808-66-57
E-mail id: nephrology@peerjournal.org